New Reads (Mar 17)

Act Of God – by Jill Ciment

index

An unspeakable plague sprouts from a mushroom, innocent. Yet, the mold proves to be monstrous! Part horror story, part screwball comedy, Jill Ciment’s brilliant suspense novel looks at what happens when our lives–so seemingly set and ordered yet so precariously balanced–break down in the wake of calamity. It is, as well, a novel about love (familial and profound) and how it can appear from the most unlikely circumstances.
Find it

 

Delicious Foods – by James Hannaham

index (1)

Hannaham’s second novel (after God Says No) is a disturbing but impressive exposé of the corporate farm industry. In Delicious Foods, James Hannaham tells the gripping story of three unforgettable characters: a mother, her son, and the drug that threatens to destroy them. Through Darlene’s haunted struggle to reunite with Eddie, through the efforts of both to triumph over those who would enslave them, and through the irreverent and mischievous voice of the drug that narrates Darlene’s travails, Hannaham’s daring and shape-shifting prose infuses this harrowing experience with grace and humor.

Find it

 

Hausfrau – by Jill Alexander Essbaum

index (2)

The Sunday Express (UK) calls it Madame Bovary meets Fifty Shades of Grey.”
While Glamour (UK) said: “Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train and The Woman Upstairs comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning–“a modern-day Anna Karenina tale.”
Find it

 

Blink Of The Screen – by Terry Pratchett

index (3)

A collection of short fiction from the late Terry Pratchett, spanning the whole of his writing career from schooldays to Discworld and the present day. He will be missed…
Find it

Frank: A Life In Politics From The Great Society To Same Sex Marriage- by Barney Frank

index (4)

How did a disheveled, intellectually combative gay Jew with a thick accent become one of the most effective (and funniest) politicians of our time? Frank: A Life in Politics from the Great Society to Same-Sex Marriage is one man’s account of the country’s transformation–and the tale of a truly momentous career.
Find it

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s