Summer Reading (and an ode to one of my favorite Autumnal Authors)

It’s Summer-time

What have you been reading?


Our (adult-reading) theme this year: Between The Covers

Need some recommendations? Stop into the library and sign-up for our Summer Reading program. Adults – come on in and we’ll keep you posted with helpful/enlightening book lists packed with title/genre recommendations and, if you enter, we’ll be offering weekly prize drawings.

~

And, …its with great sadness that I mark the passing of one of my favorite authors, Ray Bradbury. Popular consensus may categorize him as a Science-Fiction author – but he wasn’t your typical space-ship/robot-reeling nerd, no, to me, he was a poet who perfectly captured the supernatural evocations wrought from the wood-smoke-swathed hazy-day-dreamy dazes of Autumn. Such color. Such a voice. Such wonder…

“My tunes and numbers are here. They have filled my years, the years when I refused to die. And in order to do that I wrote, I wrote, I wrote, at noon or 3:00 A.M.

So as not to be dead.”
― Ray BradburyThe Illustrated Man

 

 

~
‎”When I look back now, I realize what a trial I must have been to my friends and relatives. It was one frenzy after one elation after one enthusiasm after one hysteria after another. I was always yelling and running somewhere, because I was afraid life was going to be over that very afternoon.

Read more – from the New Yorker’s Sci-Fi issue.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

